NCAA Men’s Final Four Basketball Tournament – March Madness

Known far and wide as “March Madness,” or sometimes the “Big Dance,” the NCAA Men’s Final Four is the biggest college basketball tournament of the year. First presented in 1939, it has a long history of dynasty-creating, dream-building and yes, lots of hope-dashing too.

Indianapolis, basketball capital of the world, is big on the NCAA Men’s Final Four. In fact, the NCAA has its impressive headquarters in Indy, as well as the NCAA Hall of Champions, just west of downtown Indianapolis in the beautiful White River State Park. Every five years, the Final Four convenes in Indianapolis, now at the fabulous Lucas Oil Stadium.

Doing Indy video about the Men’s Final Four in Indianapolis Indiana

The tournament is held mainly in the month of March, occupying three weeks of basketball drama, and takes place in several different venues across the nation. Some 65 teams participate in different regions. These 65 times are eventually narrowed down to the Final Four, which are the four teams that play the semifinal round. This round is always played the Saturday before the national championship.

Some interesting rituals have sprung up over the decades around the Final Four tournament. One is the destruction of the net at the end of each championship game, regional and national. The victorious players, as well as their coach, each cut one strand of the net as a remembrance of the game.

Various awards, like Most Valuable Player and Most Outstanding Player, are handed out, and the games are widely televised, bringing the inspiration of Indianapolis sports to the entire nation.

Lucas Oil Stadium
500 S Capitol Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46225