Young Hoosiers Honored with Governor’s Award for Tomorrow’s Leaders

Yesterday, Governor Mitch Daniels recognized twelve young Hoosiers for their excellence and contributions to Indianapolis society. The Governor’s Award for Tomorrow’s Leaders honors young people in Indianapolis and Indiana who have demonstrated leadership throughout the community. The award presentation occurred on Tuesday, December 15 at 3:00 pm at the Indiana State House rotunda, sponsored by Vectren Corporation.

The 2009 recipients of the Governor’s Award for Tomorrow’s Leaders are Mari Yamaguchi, Robert Gough, Jennifer L. Danic, Alane B. Summers, Samuel C. Bowles, Kylie A. Peppler, Kyle E. Hultgren, Jaime Faulker, Esmeralda Cruz, Tonja A. G. Couch, Stephanie Roberts and Christopher Beltran. The recipients hail from Indiana cities like Indianapolis, Marengo, Bloomington, Fishers, Muncie, Frankfort, Seymour, Evansville and West Lafayette.

Carl Chapman, the president and CEO of Vectren Corporation, board member of the Indiana Humanities Council and chair of the 2009 Governor’s Awards for Tomorrow’s Leaders was on hand for the awards ceremony. “These 12 young men and women serve as shining examples of Indiana’s deep reserves of talent enterprise and compassion,” said Chapman. “Dedicated professionals and students who somehow find time to give generously of their talents and energy, they represent our state’s greatest natural resource and our greatest hope for the future.”

The Governor’s Award for Tomorrow’s Leaders was established in 2003. The award focuses on the accomplishments of Hoosiers age 19 to 29. Honorees have demonstrated excellence in their communities as entrepreneurial leaders, volunteers and scholars. Each honoree receives $1000 from the Vectren Corporation as a scholarship or as a donation to the Indiana nonprofit organization or charity of their choice. A jury of leaders from around the state of Indiana review nominations and select the recipients. The members of the jury are leaders of the community in their own right hailing from backgrounds like the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust, Ball State University and even Conner Prairie.

The Indiana Humanities Council has been encouraging civic engagement and community leadership for more than 36 years. They encourage people to open their minds by thinking, reading and talking. The Governor’s Awards for Tomorrow’s Leaders is considered one of this organizations most important Indianapolis events. Rewarding the young people of Indiana highlights the future and a brighter tomorrow.

For more information about the Governor’s Award for Tomorrow’s Leaders, visit the Indiana Humanities Council’s official website.

Stay tuned to Fun City for all the latest on Indianapolis news and events. We also have great listings for fun things to do in Indianapolis, Indianapolis attractions, Indianapolis arts, Indianapolis sports and more. Let Fun City be your source for Indianapolis entertainment. Congratulations from the Fun City team to all of the recipients of the Governor’s Award for Tomorrow’s Leaders!