Indianapolos 500 Winner: Scott Dixon

Early Years:

Scott Dixon was born July 22, 1980 in Melbourne, Australia.  He moved to New Zealand as young boy, and began racing karts at the age of seven.  He captured two championships in the New Zealand Formula Vee Series, along with a title in the Formula Ford Series.  Dixon came to the states in 1999 as 19-year old, and quickly signed with Johansson Motorsports to drive in the Indy Lights Series.  He finished fifth in the points standings his first year, then, after joining PacWest Racing, Dixon won six races on his way to dominating the series championship the following season.


In 2001 PacWest felt Dixon was ready to join CART, and he didn’t disappoint, leading 14 laps in his first race.  Two races later, at the age of 20 years, 9 months, and 14 days, he became the youngest driver to win a major open-wheel race.  He was awarded Rookie of the Year honors for his performance, but the next season PacWest experienced a cash flow issue, and Dixon found himself on a floundering, broke team.

Eventually he was introduced to Chip Ganassi, owner of Target Chip Ganassi Racing, and a partnership was formed.  Ganassi moved his team to the IRL in 2003, and Dixon showed he was an immediate contender by scoring a win in the season-opening race at Homestead.  He would go on to win the points championship that season, a feat he would repeat in 2008.  Last season he narrowly missed a third championship when a fuel saving strategy helped his teammate, Dario Frachitti, secure a victory — and thusly the points title — in the season-ending race at Homestead.

Currently Dixon’s in his ninth season with Target Chip Ganassi, and has amassed 22 wins, 17 poles, and 69 Top-5 finishes in 152 races between CART and the Izod IndyCar Series.  He holds the record for most wins, most consecutive finishes (28), and shares the record for most victories in an IRL season (6).  In 2006 Dixon teamed Dan Wheldon and Casey Mears to win the 24 Hours of Daytona.



Dixon has had remarkable success in his career at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  He started on the inside of Row Two in his debut appearance in Speedway, Indiana, and he finished eighth on his second go-around.  He really hit his stride in 2006 when he started fourth and finished sixth, and then followed that with a runner-up performance in 2007.  In 2008 he finally broke through, winning the pole and then leading 115 laps on his way to crossing the line of bricks as the winner.  He became 19th driver to win the Indianapolis 500 from the pole, and the first race winner ever from New Zealand.

Scott Dixon discusses the impact of winning the Indy 500


Other Indianapolis Racing Legends:

Helio Castroneves | Dan Wheldon | Dario Franchitti | A.J. Foyt | Michael Andretti |

Indianapolis sports who can’t wait for the track to open its gate can get their fill right here at  Check back throughout the month for all the latest news.