Firestone Indy Lights Series

The Firestone Indy Lights Series is a developmental racing league sanctioned by the IRL.  Its main function is to act as a feeder program for the Izod IndyCar Series.

The concept of Indy Lights has been around since 1986, and it has operated under many different titles and legislative bodies.  When the split in open-wheel racing happened in 1995, the Indy Lights Series continued on with Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART), but was temporarily shut down when CART decided to use the Toyota Atlantic Series as its primary minor league system.  The IRL, with Tony George as its head, founded the current incarnation of the series in 2002.

The IRL had no feeder system prior to forming what would be called the Infiniti Pro Series.  It was set up as a “spec series” that uses a modified 3.5L version of the V8 engine used in the Infiniti Q45, and a Dallara chassis.  Without much funding, the series struggled to get significant and stable participation at first, but the introduction of road-course races in 2005 enabled the league to attract multi-talented drivers like Marco Andretti, son of Indy racing legend Michael Andretti.

In 2007 the IRL acquired the historical records and proprietary information from Champ Car, and with it, the Indy Lights namesake, giving it the current moniker of the Firestone Indy Lights Series.  The series is responsible for the closest recognized finish in the history of organized auto racing when Logan Gomez beat Alex Lloyd by 0.0005 seconds in a race at Chicagoland Speedway in 2007.

The signature race of the series is the Firestone Freedom 100 which is held the Friday before the Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Former Notable League Champions Include:

2002:  A.J. Foyt IV
2000:  Scott Dixon
1999:  Oriol Servia
1998:  Cristiano Da Matta
1997:  Tony Kanaan
1995:  Greg Moore
1993:  Bryan Herta
1992:  Robbie Buhl
1991:  Eric Bachelart
1990:  Paul Tracy
1987:  Didier Theys

Historic finish at Chicagoland in 2007