IZOD IndyCar Series: New Car Decision Announced

It was a big week for the IZOD IndyCar Series. On Wednesday they hosted an event at the Indianapolis Museum of Art to announce which company earned the right to produce chassis for the series beginning in 2012. Among the groups competing for the contract included current chassis manufacturer Dallara, along with Lola Cars, Swift Engineering, Bat Engineering, and DeltaWing. With over 500 people in attendance, including Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels and many other famous Indianapolis people, the announcement was made that Dallara will be the single chassis provider for 2012 and beyond.

The big change comes in the form of how the cars will look. Dallara will be manufacturing  identical tubs, or safety cells as they’re being called, that all teams must use, but team owners can then choose to “clothe” the car from various aerodynamic kits. The kits include wings, sidepods, and engine covers, and can be made by any manufacturer. IndyCar officials hope this will entice auto manufacturers like General Motors, Lotus and Ford, and companies from the field of aerospace to become involved in the series.

Despite strong competition, Dallara was chosen by the ICONIC Committee because they’ve been involved in the series since 1997, and have a strong safety record. Dallara will also be building a facility in Speedway, Indiana to manufacture the chassis and it will employ about 80 people.

As for DeltaWing, which displayed a prototype of their futuristic car at this year’s Indianapolis 500, the investors of that group, which includes Chip Ganassi, are attempting to get the car produced and are searching for a place for it to be raced.

DeltaWing Concept Car Indianapolis Motor Speedway

After all the excitement surrounding the announcement of the new car design, the IndyCar Series then took to the streets of Toronto for the Honda Toronto Indy on Sunday, in what proved to be a thrilling, and crash-filled race. With the track hot and slippery, the cars were sliding all over the place, prompting several wrecks and more than a few heated exchanges.

Justin Wilson led an impressive 72 of 85 laps, but he couldn’t get his tires warmed up quickly enough and surrendered the lead on lap 72 to Will Power. Wilson then spun out a few laps later, dropping him to 14th place. He would finish a disappointing 7th. Power coasted to the victory, his fourth of the season, all of which have come on road and street courses. The win also gave Roger Penske his 150th in major open-wheel racing.

Honda Toronto Indy Top 10 Finishers:

1. Will Power

2. Dario Franchitti

3. Ryan Hunter-Reay

4. Tony Kanaan

5. Graham Rahal

6. Danica Patrick

7. Justin Wilson

8. Marco Andretti

9. Simona de Silvestro

10. Dan Wheldon

Highlights from the Honda Toronto Indy

Updated IZOD IndyCar Points Standings:

1. Will Power

2. Dario Franchitti

3. Scott Dixon

4. Ryan Briscoe

5. Ryan Hunter-Reay

6. Helio Castroneves

7. Tony Kanaan

8. Justin Wilson

9. Dan Wheldon

10. Marco Andretti