Nominate an Author for the 2014 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award

Indiana Authors AwardStarting February 3, the Indianapolis Library Foundation is opening up nominations to the public to vote for this year’s Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award. The award works to promote the love of reading and writing among Hoosiers as well as recognizes the contributions that Indiana authors make to the literary landscape both locally and nationally.

Authors are eligible if they were born in Indiana or have lived in Indiana for at least five consecutive years. If an author was nominated in the past five years, they will be considered again for the 2014 award. To provide additional comments for a previously nominated author, email  A statewide award panel comprised of nine judges will choose a winner for the following three categories:

National Author: ($10,000 Prize) A writer who has Indiana ties, but who is known and read throughout the country. They will be evaluated on their entire body of work.

Regional Author: ($7,500 Prize) A well-known author that is read and respected throughout the state of Indiana. They will be evaluated on their entire body of work.

Emerging Author: ($5,000 Prize) An author who has published no more than two books and the title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years. Emerging authors will be evaluated on their 1-2 books.

In addition to the above prizes to be awarded, each winner will receive a $2,500 grant from the Library Foundation.

The Glick Fund renewed their commitment in October to fund the Indiana Authors Award for the next five years. “We are so pleased to continue these awards that bring recognition to the talented authors (and future authors) in our state,” said Marianne Glick, an advisor to The Glick Fund and board chair for the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation.

Along with the nomination process, The Indiana Authors award invites the public to get involved throughout the year with outreach to organizations serving readers and writers. On October 25, 2014 there will be a day of free public programs and a ticketed Award Dinner that evening at the Central Library in Indianapolis.

$78,500 was raised for the Library Foundation at last year’s award dinner. The winner of the National Author Award was Michael Martone, the Regional Author Award winner was James H. Madison and the Emerging Author Award went to Mike Mullin. Each author and their hometown libraries received grants ranging from $2,500-$10,000.

Nominations will be accepted through March 21, 2014 and can be submitted at For more information, contact The Indianapolis Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700.